Tuesday, May 18, 2010

My Top 20 Favorite Movies

Back in 2008, I posted my top 10 favorite movies list. Seeing as how that was quite some time ago, and people's tastes tend to change over time (with me being no exception), and the fact that I've sen a lot of really great movies since then, I'm going to post my Top 20 favorite movies. Why Top 20? Because there are just so many movies I love, & I'd kind of feel bad leaving a few underrated movies out of the list.
Well, here it is!
My Top 20 favorite movies!

20: The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra

This is one of the funniest movies that I've ever seen. It's unbelievably quote-worthy, it's a great send-up of 1950s B-movies, & the attention to detail of the films it's parodying would make even Quintin Tarantino jealous.

19: The Producers (2005)

One of the few remakes that, not only I like, but that I also consider to be better than the original. Now, most of the time, I don't like musicals, but the songs in this movie are so damn funny that I can't help but love it as much as I do.

18: The Wild Bunch

One of the great Westerns, The Wild Bunch features some of the best shoot-out scenes put to film. It's also a great story about crude, violent, & old fashioned men struggling to survive in a rapidly changing world.

17: Star Wars: A New Hope

I don't think that I need to explain why I love this movie. Everyone's seen it at some point. The characters are great, the story's great, the special effects still hold up, the score by John Williams is amazing. Whatever I can say to praise this movie has been said a million times, so I'm just going to continue.

16: Changeling

This is probably the greatest movie that I never want to see again. Clint Eastwood successfully creates a haunting story of a world losing its innocents. Normally, I don't like Angelina Jolie, but she's amazing in this film.
If you decide to watch this movie, then be warned; this is a haunting, stomach-turning piece, & you might have trouble sleeping after seeing it.

15: The Godfather

"I believe in America." Upon hearing this first line in the movie, I was hooked. No film buff should go without seeing The Goodfather. It's just too amazing to miss out on.

14: The Wizard of Oz

To be honest, I'm not really putting this on the list because of how good the movie is, as much as I am putting this on the list because of the nostalgia value. Whenever I watch this movie, I end up feeling better about myself, & the film always puts a smile on my face, so how can I not like it?

13: Gran Torino

Another great Clint Eastwood movie from 2008! 2008 was a good year for good old Clint.
Gran Torino tells a great story of redemption, growing older, & sacrifice. It's a must-see.

12: Superman: The Movie

One of the few comic book movies to improve upon the source material. The comics were decent, but the movie's script was witty, action packed, Christopher Reeve & Gene Hackman kicked ass, and the score was awe-inspiring. See it!

11: Once Upon A Time In The West

This is what great Westerns are supposed to be. Not just shoot-outs upon shoot-outs, but civilization trying to tackle the harsh wilderness (in this case, the recurring theme of the railroads), the civilized men versus the violent men, & the old ways versus the new ways.

10: Monty Python & The Holy Grail

Easily one of the funniest movies that I've ever seen! This is one of those movies were almost everything uttered is quote-worthy, so you could get a whole group of film geeks (such as myself) & have them reenact the film. If you haven't seen it yet, then see it ASAP, but if you have seen it, then watch it again, there are probably a billion jokes you haven't noticed yet.

9: Dr. Strangelove: Or, How I Learned To Stop Worrying & Love The Bomb

I love dark comedy. I'm not gonna lie. When it comes to the subject, most people wouldn't admit to liking dark comedy. However, I'm not most people, so I admit to love watching dark subject matter being turned upside-down & become comedic.
In this case, Dr. Strangelove takes the fear of nuclear annihilation during The Cold War. What makes it great is how serious it seems to be with its atmosphere, & yet manages to be completely goofy at the same time.

8: Robocop

This is probably my favorite science fiction film that comes to mind.
Aside from being an ultra-violent 80s action movie, Robocop features great social commentary of the American popular culture, in which the American public has been dumbed down, keeps watching the same crap over & over again, constantly get into wars, acting as if it's completely normal, and lets corrupt businesses run the Law. I'd say that Robocop is a very socially relevant film today for its satire of the mass media.
But it's also a great story of an innocent man (Robocop) who, despite being surrounded by corruption, does the right thing, & rediscovers himself.

7: Rocky

I don't know how to describe how great this movie is. I just love it.

6: No Country For Old Men

Javier Bardem gives a chilling performance as Anton Chigurh, a hit-man who kills very casually & without mercy. His character is almost apocalyptic in the sense that he's a warning of dark times to come.

5: The Dark Knight

This is the comic book movie that took chances. This is the comic book movie that made a leap from action movie, to Greek tragedy.
What makes this film great is The Joker; he's easily the best version of the character, because he's pushing Batman to his limits, instead of just trying kill him.

4: Dirty Harry

Clint Eastwood is downright amazing in this film as Harry Callahan. The film has similar themes to both Robocop & No Country For Old Men, in which there's a killer who kills casually, as well as the theme of the main character being stuck in a world of corruption & evil, but manages to find the courage to do the right thing, & stop the criminals.

3: Raising Arizona

This is a brilliantly funny comedy by the Coen Brothers that manages to not be a mindless spoof. The film is a genuine story of redemption, & is paints a great portrait of how hypocritical society can be. In this case, the main character, H.I. (played by Nicolas Cage), is a repeat offender who robbs stores. But because he doesn't use live ammo, he can't be charged with Armed Robbery. But, despite being a repeat offender who never uses live ammo (until the movie's climax), all of the "normal" people around him are more trigger happy than John Rambo in a shooting gallery.
An overall great story of redemption, rebirth, & the hypocrisies of society.

2: Fargo

They should have called this movie "Murphy's Law", because what ever could possibly go wrong does go wrong, & at the worst possible moment. Much like the Coen Brothers' later film, No Country For Old Men, Fargo is a grim reminder of what human beings are capable of doing, especially when motivated by greed.

Well, here we are! The Number One spot! You might be thinking; "Those are some big name movies! What the hell else could top all of them??????" Well, the answer might surprise you.
(Drum roll) And now, my favorite movie to date is..........

1: Alone In The Dark

This film shows that Uwe Boll is the greatest filmmaker of our generation. Everything about this film puts other classics such as The Godfather & Citizen Kane to shame. Every shot is just exquisite! But most of all, the film teaches us the meaning of life.......

Okay, I'm just kidding. Here's my real Number One pick.

1: Inglourious Basterds

Yeah, you may be suprised by this choice. Aside from being a really recent film, but if you know me well, chances are that you know that I've dismissed the film as being "evil" and "morally reprehensible".
Well, yes, I did hate it. Did. When I first saw the film, I looked at it as a well made action film. The second time around, I hated it for its scenes of violence & torture. But for some reason, I was motivated to watch it a third time (when you're motivated to watch a movie multiple times before you can make up your mind, that's a really good sign), & I then looked at it as an Anti-War movie disguised as a revenge picture.
The film shows how good men can be turned into cold blooded killers when motivated by revenge, & how war corrupts the human spirit. This is one of those films were everyone is an awful person, but that's how the point is able to go through.
The film also challenges the American mentality towards WWII, in which people think that there's no crossing the line when it comes to revenge against Nazis. But when you see the disgusting acts committed "The Basterds", you start to think otherwise; that there is a point when you cross the line in the conflict against evil.
Granted, I'm not sure if that's what Tarantino wanted, but that's just how I look at the film.
It's an overall astounding multiple-layered film. You can enjoy it as an action film, a dark comedy, a thought provoking story of corruption, maybe all of them. Which is why I pick Inglourious Basterds as my favorite film to date.

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Three reviews in one! Avatar, Sherlock Holmes, & Invictus

Hey, as you can see, I'm back. Now, I've been very busy recently, so these reviews are going to be short.

AVATAR

(See Plot Description Here)

Wow! This is James Cameron's first non-documentary film since Titanic! So, naturally, there's a lot of hype. Sadly though, this film is a bit disappointing story wise. The problems are that the film is predictable, the environmentalist themes can get cheesy at times, & I really felt that the film's morality was really flawed; the seems to paint an image were either you're on the environmentalist side of the conflict, you're either on the destructive Capitalists' side of the conflict, but there's no shades of gray.

But here are the positive aspects; THE FILM MIGHT BE THE AMAZING LOOKING FILM EVER MADE! I CAN'T THINK OF A FILM THAT IS A BETTER VISUAL EXPERIENCE THAN THIS!

So, go see the film in theaters, but I wouldn't recommend expecting a mind blowing story.
AVATAR: 6.5/10

Sherlock Holmes (2009)
Link
(See Plot Description Here)

Man, this movie was fun! Not only do Robert Downey Jr. & Jude Law make a great comedic duo, not only is this movie a great update on the Sherlock Holmes series, but it's also a surprisingly faithful adaptation of the original books. Go see it!

One problem, though. For some reason, I don't think that Rachel McAdams was right for the role of Irene Adler.
Sherlock Holmes (2009): 8.4/10

Invictus

(See Plot Description Here)

I don't think that I need to say much here. It's directed by Clint Eastwood, & stars Morgan Freeman; of course the film is great! Morgan Freeman, as usual, gives an awesome performance in the film, & Matt Damon gives a notable performance as well. The film, despite being a studio funded film, has that distinct feeling of an independent film (particularly 1970s independent films).

The only problem that comes to mind is that the film just isn't perfect, & as good as Gran Torino or Changeling.
Invictus: 9/10

Thursday, December 17, 2009

G-MAN reviews Team Fortress 2 (PS3 port)



Platforms: PC, PS3, XBOX 360

Studio: Valve corporation

Publisher(s): Valve, Electronic Arts (PS3 port)

Genres: First Person Shooter, Online Multiplayer

INTRO: When I was raising money for a PS3, one game on my checklist of PS3 games was The Orange Box, but for one reason; Team Fortress 2. After watching the Meet The Team trailers, I knew that I had to get the game.

While I have yet to play the PC version (I don't even own a PC), & the PS3 port has received heated criticism amongst fans & critics, I'm going to review the PS3 port. Here are my thoughts.


PLOT: The backstory of TF2 (which there is little of) involves two rival holding companies, Reliable Excavation & Demolitions (RED) & Builders' League United (BLU), competing against each other in objective based missions. As far as I know, that's about it.

GAMEPLAY: The game is as exclusively multiplayer game. The players will play on either the RED team, or the BLU team. There are no deathmatch modes; only Capture The Flag, Capture The Map Points (where the BLU teams tries to capture points, while the RED team defends the points), & Defend The Cart (which I haven't gotten a chance to play, & I'm not sure if that's even in the PS3 version, so I can't explain that one to you). There are nine unique character classes to chose from, each of them separated into three categories; Offensive, Defensive, & Support.


The Offensive consists of The Scout, The Soldier, & The Pyro. The Offensive classes are, of course, the most skilled at attack the enemy's bases.

The Scout is the fastest of the classes, & the only character who can double-jump. He uses a scatter-gun, a pistol, & a baseball bat as weapons. The Scout is probably the best class for stealing intelligence (which serve as flags in a "capture the flag" mode), but he's really weak, so he's not the best character for combat.
The Soldier is one of the more durable classes, but he's slower. His weapon consist of a rocket launcher, a shot-gun, & a shovel. If you know what you're doing, The soldier can be one of the most dangerous classes on the battlefield.
NOTE: While The Soldier is listed under the Offensive classes, he's more effective with Defensive strategies.
The Pyro is a thug wearing a gas-mask & a flame-proof suite. He uses a flame thrower, a shot-gun, & an axe as weapons.
NOTE: The Pyro is weak, slow, & his flame thrower has a very short range, so he's best used for ambushes, making him more effective with Defensive strategies, despite being list under the Offensive classes.

The Defensive consists of The Demoman, The Heavy, & The Engineer. As their name suggests, the Defensive classes are best used to defend their team's base.

The Demoman is a hard drinking, black Scotsman with an eye-patch. He uses a grenade launcher, a sticky grenade launcher (which are remote detonated), & a whine bottle as weapons. NOTE: Although The Demoman is listed under under the Defensive classes, he's a lot more effective as an Offensive player.
The Heavy is a lumbering Russian who's so obsessed with guns, that he actually names his weapons. His weapons are a mini-gun, a shot-gun, & his fists. He's probably the strongest class, but he's easily the slowest class as well.
The Engineer is a calm "good 'ole boy" Texan with an interest in machines. His weapons consist of a shot-gun, a pistol, a wrench, & a set of blue prints to build mounted guns (Sentrys), health/ammo regenerators (dispensers), & teleporters. He's not really good at combat, though.

The Support consist of The Medic, The Sniper, & The Spy. The Support characters requires a lot of thought put into their strategies, due to them being weaker than the other characters, both in the categories of weapons & health.

The Medic is a psychotic German, & is capable of healing the various members of his team. His weapons are a needle gun, the Ubercharge (which isn't a weapon, it's used to heal teammates), & the bone saw. However, The Medic is best used to defend your team's base, & not attacking the enemy base.
The Sniper is an Australian hit-man, who is, of course, highly skilled at sniping. His weapons include a sniper rifle, a sub-machine gun, & a machete. The best strategy is, obviously, to pick off enemies from a distance. Your ideal targets would be enemy Heavys, & enemy Medics (especially when they're trying to heal their teammates).
The Spy is a masked Frenchman, who's skilled at sneaking, & disguising himself. His inventory includes a revolver, a pair of butterfly knives (if you stab someone in the back with those, you get an instant kill), a sapper (used for taking out an enemy Engineer's creations), a disguise kit, & an invisibility cloak.



What makes TF2 so great is how different each class is. Because of the characters' advantages & disadvantages, this makes teamwork a must, thus making the game a lot more unique than other games.

DESIGN: As said before, the variety of the characters is what really defines the TF2. Much like Sly Cooper 2, every character is a different experience from the other characters. It's fun to ambush people as The Pyro, or to steal enemy intel as The Scout, or to gun people down from a distance as The Sniper, or to backstab enemies as The Spy.

I also really love the retro art design. When looking at it, it's hard not to think of Pixar's The Incredibles (I get the impression that that was on purpose).

However, there are some technical problems with the game. Occasionally, the game lags.... badly. But that's not the biggest problem with the game. The biggest problem is that sometimes, the game will randomly freeze for a few seconds, & go back to the main menu, where it read; "Lost Connection". Thankfully, this doesn't seem to happen often.

HITS:
The Teamwork Aspect Is Perfect
Great Art Design
Loads of Variety

MISSES:
Glitchy

IN CLOSING: While the glitches can be annoying, if you have a PS3, TF2 is still a must-have. It's my favorite multiplayer game, &, in my opinion, the cartoonish art style, the espionage, & focus on teamwork actually, almost, makes this the FPS equivalent of Sly Cooper. In fact, if there never is a new Sly game, I'd still be happy with TF2 as the substitution. As crazy is that sounds, I'm serious! To me, this is the perfect substitution for Sly Cooper!

10 / 10

G-MAN reviews Uncharted 2: Among Theives (PS3)



Platform(s): PS3

Studio: Naughty Dog

Publisher(s): Sony Computer Entertainment of America

INTRO: When raising money for a PS3, I was going to buy Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. However, the sequel, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, looked so great, that I couldn't wait out for it. Anyway, here's the review.



PLOT: The game centers around fortune hunter, Nathan Drake (a possible descendant of Sir Francis Drake). The game starts with him looking for Marco Polo's missing fleet, but, he ends up going to Nepal, looking for Shambhala.

While the characters are very memorable (most notably Drake), & the script is great, the story itself isn't at all memorable. Do you remember how ROCKY III had great characters, but the story itself was kind of boring? Well, it's kind of like that here.


GAMEPLAY: The game is a third person shooter, similar to Gears of War. The game takes use of covering in blind fire, over-the-shoulder shooting, & climbing.

There are total of four things you'll do in the game; shooting, climbing, puzzle solving, &, rarely, sneaking past guards.

While the game is addicting, I didn't really enjoy the puzzle scenes (namely because the shoot out scenes were so much fun), nor the stealth scenes. Thankfully, the stealth scenes were rarely in the game.

But what really makes Uncharted 2 worth while is the online multiplayer. While not as good as Team Fortress 2 (which I will review soon), it will keep you playing for weeks. My favorite aspect of the multiplayer is the machinma tools.

DESIGN: Uncharted 2 features some of the best graphics I've ever seen, & probably the best graphics currently on the market.

The sound effects are perfect, though the music is kind of bland.

The controls controls are perfect, & the hand-to-hand combat kicks more ass than Chuck Norris in every single episode of Walker: Texas Ranger.

In other words, the design is awesome.

HITS
Great Characters
Awesome Shooting & Hand-to-Hand Combat
Addicting Multiplayer
Machinima Tools
Sound Effects Are Perfect
Some of the Best Graphics Around

MISSES
The Story is Boring
The Puzzles Distract From The Action
The Stealth scenes Are Out of Place
The Music is Bland

IN CLOSING: This deserved the Game of the Year award that it won! The online is great, the single player is great, & all the flaws seem very minor! This is tied with inFamous as my number one favorite game! Don't miss it!

10 / 10

Monday, November 30, 2009

G-MAN reviews inFamous (PS3)



Development Studio: Sucker Punch Productions

Publisher(s): SONY Computer Entertainment

Platform(s): PS3

Release Date(s): -May 26, 2009 (US)- May 29, 2009 (Europe)- June 4, 2009 (Australia)-

I get the impression that I'm one of the few people who hyped inFamous from the very announcement. In fact, a few weeks before E3 2007, I heard that Sucker Punch was going to announce a "mystery project" at E3, & I was watching E3, wondering "WHAT THE HELL ARE THEY MAKING?!?" So, you could say I was hyping the game before it was even officially reviled!

So, after finally getting a PS3, I played inFamous all day & all night. Here's my review.

STORY: The story of inFamous involves Cole MacGrath, a bike messenger & experienced urban explorer, delivering a package. But suddenly, the box explodes, vaporizing everything within a six block radius, except for Cole. The city goes into chaos, & Cole gains electric based superpowers. At first, he & his buddy, Zeak, try to escape the quarantined city. But Cole then makes a deal with the government to find a missing scientist, John White, as well as the source of the explosion.

Over the course of the game, the story becomes somewhat of a Consequentialist piece. This helps make the game's story a lot more interesting, & shows that Sucker Punch is capable of a mature story. In fact, it's the best story that I've ever seen in a game.

GAME PLAY: The game is set in an open world consisting of three islands, that, of course, are unlocked as progress through the game. There are no vehicles to drive in the game, but a running along rooftops beats stealing a car any day.

Veterans of the Uncharted series should feel right at home with the shooting (or zapping) mechanics. It's a similar control scheme.

One problem I have is that the game's really short. It's 39 story missions long (43 if you include the two tutorial levels, & the aftermath). Also, I beat the game within three days of getting it, & another three days on my second play through. Honestly, I feel that 39 story missions in a sandbox game just doesn't cut it; especially when the game is this good.

DESIGN: The climbing is great. As I mentioned before, running across buildings is a lot of fun. Sucker Punch wasn't lying in the interviews when they said; "If it looks like you can climb it, you can climb it".

The music is really eerie, & I'm disgusted that it wasn't nominated for a VGA in the "Best Score" category.

One problem with the design is that the AI feels like a PS2 game's AI, just with HD graphics.

HITS
Mature & Impressive Story
Great Characters
Great Gameplay
Great Controls
Climbing Mechanics
Amazing Music

MISSES
AI isn't that impressive
Too Short


IN CLOSING: If you have a PS3, but you don't have inFamous, then what the hell are you doing? It's a must-have! And I never thought I'd be saying this, but this has replaced Sly 2 as my favorite game of all time!

G-MAN gives inFamous a "Perfect Ten" out of "Ten"!

Monday, November 23, 2009

Announcements: 11/23/09

Wow! It's been a while since I last posted here! Now, I've got three four to say, so here it goes.

First, my review of "A Christmas Carol" starring Jim Carrey.

If you’ve ever read the book, or watched any movies based off of the book, then it’s pointless explaining the plot, so I’m just gonna get to the review.

First, the animation is really good. The voice acting is also pretty good, & I’m glad that they didn’t dumb the film down by making the characters talk like people today; the way people speak in the film is really old fashion.

However, I feel that the 3-D was useless, & only a few scenes took advantage of the Real-D 3-D. And while Jim Carrey is good as the role of Scrooge, he isn’t as good as Patrick Stewart, George C. Scott, or Alastair Sim, in other adaptations. Also, there not much new or innovative with this version (but considering how we have a modern re-telling with Bill Murray, & a Muppet adaptation, I'd say we've ran out of ideas for the story anyway).

Overall, it’s worth seeing, but see it under matinée price, because you know what you're gonna get. It'll also probably get a G-MAN Award nomination for Best Animated Film.

Final score: 7 / 10

Also, on October 26th, I finally got a PS3! That kind of explains why I've been absent recently.

Third, I got inFamous & Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. Expect reviews of both games in the near future.

And fourth, as you might know, both inFamous & Uncharted are being made into movies, with Spider-man & X-men producer, Avi Arad, behind both of them. I'm looking foreword to both of films (particularly Uncharted, considering that it almost is a movie to begin with, so it's only logical making it into a movie). And recently, on the Sucker Punch forums, the users & I have been brain storming casting (and, for Uncharted, director & composer) suggestions for the films. There have been interesting ideas, & some time in the future, I'll post casting ideas for both films.

So, I'm not abandoning the blog, I'm just taking a break. Goodbye.

Friday, September 11, 2009

G-MAN reviews "Inglourious Basterds"

So I finally got to see Quintin Tarrantino's latest war epic, "Inglourious Basterds". But before I start, I want to ask something: what is up with that title?!? Was there a censorship problem? Were the filmmakers threatened with lawsuits because it bared a similar title to a 1970s Italian war movie (which was also Tarrantino's inspiration for this film)?

"Inglourious Basterds" tells multiple stories (that are tied up together in the end, of course). The title characters, The Basterds, are a group of vengeance seeking Jewish-Americans lead by Aldo "The Apache" Raine (played by Brad Pitt). Their basic goal is to go around Nazi occupied France & spread fear into the hearts of the Nazis, through, as Aldo describes it as, "an apache indian style revolution".
Oddly enough, despite the fact that The Basterds are the title characters, they aren't the film's focus. The film's main plot involves an escaped Jewish girl, Shosanna Dreyfus (played by Mélanie Laurent), who opens a movie theater in France. But when she's offered to hold the premiere of a Nazi propaganda film, she takes advantage of the situation (I'm not gonna spoil it, but I think that you know what she's gonna do).

First off, this is the closest thing I've seen to 60s / 70s movie in a long time. The cinematography, atmosphere, dialog, soundtrack, & even the title sequences scream 70s movie.

And while I'm on the subject of the soundtrack, I'd like to mention my thoughts on the music. There doesn't appear to be ANY original music in this film, which that works quite well here. The use of Ennio Morricone is perfect. Also, the film has the strangest (& that's saying a lot!) use of David Bowie music I've heard in a film.

Acting wise, the film was great. The best actor in the film was, with no doubt, Christopher Waltz as the main Nazi, Hans Landa. This is a great villain. He's not at all over the top. He's calm, & yet really intimidating. Undoubtedly a contender for Best Supporting Actor.
But the funniest actor was Brad Pitt as Aldo Raine. At first, I thought he was doing his worst John Wayne impersonation, but then I realized that he was parodying George W. Bush. No joke! Just watch the movie, & you'll see what I mean!

I'm also glad that it wasn't as violent as I expected (though that's not saying much). Normally, I hate gory movies, but this didn't focus on the violence to much.

The pacing was perfect. It was two-and-a-half hours, but the story was engaging enough that I lost track of time. In fact, I was hoping that the movie would be a bit longer. It was THAT entertaining!

There are only two flaws that come to mind. First, The Basterds are the best characters in the film, & yet they're not in the film as much as you'd hope.
Second, this isn't a problem with me, but I know that a lot of people will be irritated by the aspect of the film. All I can say without spoiling the film is that if you're a fan of historical accuracy, you're gonna hate this film with a passion.

HITS
Feels like an old movie
Great pacing
Great acting
Awesome soundtrack
Light on the gore

MISSES
The Basterds aren't in the movie that much
Historically inaccurate (I don't have a problem with this apect of the film)

IN CLOSING: I actually enjoyed this more than "District 9". "District 9" is a better movie overall, but I found this to be more satisfying. I just hope that Tarrantino doesn't make a prequel like I've heard. Other wise, that would really ruin this film.

G-MAN gives "Inglourious Basterds" a "Perfect Ten" out of "Ten"!

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

G-MAN's Soapbox: Disney Buys Marvel Comics

As you probably know, Disney has bought Marvel Comics for $4 billion dollars. Here's the Cinematical article.

"It's a shocking deal no one saw coming in a million years. According to an official press release from the Walt Disney Company, Disney has bought Marvel Entertainment for the hefty price of $4 billion. Under the deal, Disney gains control of more than 5,000 Marvel characters, and Marvel gains their massive marketing infrastructure.

"This transaction combines Marvel's strong global brand and world-renowned library of characters including Iron Man, Spider-Man, X-Men, Captain America, Fantastic Four and Thor with Disney's creative skills, unparalleled global portfolio of entertainment properties, and a business structure that maximizes the value of creative properties across multiple platforms and territories," said Robert A. Iger, President aof The Walt Disney Company. "Ike Perlmutter and his team have done an impressive job of nurturing these properties and have created significant value. We are pleased to bring this talent and these great assets to Disney."

--Elisabeth Rappe, Cinematical

My thoughts on it? To tell you the truth, even though this is Disney, the same people who are responsible for the current teeny-bopper craze (which I hate the craze with a passion), I don't think that we need to worry.

I mean, Disney owns Miramax, & Miramax has released Tarantino films like "Pulp Fiction" & "Inglorious Basterds", & Disney hasn't interfered with those films. Also, TouchStone pictures is a studio that was made to release films too inappropriate for the Disney name.

IN CLOSING: People need to calm down about this. If Disney hasn't messed Miramax, or TouchStone, then I don't think that we need to worry about this.

This is "The G-MAN" signing out!